TETFUND expresses commitment to infrastructural development in Nigerian schools


The tertiary education trust fund TETFUND has emphasized its commitment in infrstural developing in Nigeria’s major schools.

The fund said this is a step towrads improving the learning environment in Nigeria.

The executive secretary of the fund, Sonny S. T. Echono stated this on Friday during the inauguration of eight major buildings that the agency has completed in Gombe State University.

He said the construction is a part of the activities to develop the learning environment that TETFUND is trying to create in the tertiary schools in the country.

In his speech, Gombe State Governor, Muhammadu Inuwa Yahaya, praised the FUND for its efforts to develop the school hoping it will continue to provide buildings for the development of education.

Buildings inaugurated include Faculty of education complex, faculty of art and social sciences, faculty of pharmaceutical sciences, faculty of law, others include female hostel, university clinic and Drama theater.

Meanwhile, the Senate and the Governing Council of Gombe State University will confer an Honorary Degree to the Vice President of Nigeria Kashim Shettima and six others who have contributed to the development of humanity.

Speaking during a press conference ahead of the 10th 11th 12th and 13th combined convocation ceremony, The Vice Chancellor Prof Aliyu Usman El-Nafaty said the choice of the seven personalities was based on their contributions to their immediate community and Nigeria as a whole.

The Vice-Chancellor said the institution is currently running 40 undergraduate and 68 postgraduate programs fully accredited by the National Universities Commission NUC, while also expanding its academic spheres with an additional 13 undergraduate and 31 postgraduate programs to commence full academic activities from the next academic session of 2023/2024.

Professor El-Nafaty said the institution has reviewed the female intake policy to address the local challenges, thus, the rapid socio-economic development of a nation has a link with the calibre of women and their education.

He said the institution has produced outstanding and thoughtful scholars, administrators and doctors across the country.

Those that will be awarded are Vice President Kashim Shettima, Former Secretary to the Federal Government Boss Mustapha, Former Minister of Finance Hajia Zainab Shamsuna Ahmad.

Others are Professor Idris Muhammad, Alhaji Kashim Ibrahim Imam, Major General Timothy Sheloidi and the self-made scientist and innovator Abdullahi Usman.